19 August 2013

Bone Brass (Holland)

The origin of BoneBrass:
The Dutch chamber music ensemble, BoneBrass, is formed by the trombone players, Jan Bults, Gert van Veldhuizen,  Jan Jager and Wessel Bruggink. BoneBrass originated in their cooperation over the years in different ad-hoc orchestras. In the autumn of 1997 they decided to prolong this cooperation in the form of an ensemble. It was their ambition to promote the trombone as a vocal solo instrument for a bigger audience, especially lovers of chamber music who are less familiar with this genre. 
Even after these many years of making music together they are still motivated by the challenge to promote the trombone. They especially try to demonstrate the ‘vocal’ qualities of the instrument. In doing so their stage varies from theatres, castles, concert halls and gardens to churches. Occasionally BoneBrass can be seen in recording studios.

The repertoire of BoneBrass consist of about 50 compositions, from the renaissance to contemporary music. Composers are, Gabriƫli, Speer, Preatorius, Franck, Bruckner, Telemann, Mendelssohn, Schubert, Handel, Bach, Beethoven, Grieg, Koetsier, Papandopulo, Bozza, Gershwin, Puccini, Holst, Carmichael, Elings, Agrell, Joplin, Doms, Mucke, Bummerl, Slabak, Franckenpohl, Wood, en Saint Saens.
The music is HERE.

No comments: